omnivore’s 100

 

I saw this on Chocolate and Zucchini and thought it looked like fun. Even though I’ve recently changed my eating habits, I have been an omnivore for the last 7 years and technically still am since I haven’t really sworn off meat forever.   

 

From the Very Good Taste blog:

 

Here’s a chance for a little interactivity for all the bloggers out there. Below is a list of 100 things that I think every good omnivore should have tried at least once in their life. The list includes fine food, strange food, everyday food and even some pretty bad food – but a good omnivore should really try it all. Don’t worry if you haven’t, mind you; neither have I, though I’ll be sure to work on it. Don’t worry if you don’t recognise everything in the hundred, either; Wikipedia has the answers.

 

Rules:

 

1)      Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.
4) Optional extra: Post a comment here at www.verygoodtaste.co.uk linking to your results.

PS – I’d love to know if you’ve done this as well.

 

Here’s my list along with a few comments:

 

1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare
5. Crocodile – Tastes like chicken, right?
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9. Borscht – I love beets more than almost anything!
10. Baba ghanoush
11. Calamari – Love this – especially the leggy bits.
12. Pho
13. PB&J sandwich – I thought this was a funny one, then I realized the creator of this list is Brittish. I guess this sandwhich is only common in the US. Anyway, I prefer honey to jelly, but I also enjoy it with strawberry jam – not grape, not raspberry – strawberry.  My mom used to remove the crusts with a heart shaped cookie cutter. My first grade teacher held up my heart shaped sandwhich at snack time to show the class. She said “Look everyone! Her mother must really lover her.”
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses – No, but I would like to.
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes – I’ve had mead, but that’s honey, not fruit so I guess that doesn’t count.
19. Steamed pork buns – There are some seriously good ones by my house! The ladies are cranky (they think Pip is cute, so they are nice to me now) but it is sooooo worth it. Lucky the veggie ones are tasty too!
20. Pistachio ice cream
21. Heirloom tomatoes – I get really excited when these come into season.
22. Fresh wild berries – Wild blackberries grew near my house as a child. I spent every summer with purple fingers.
23. Foie gras
24. Rice and beans
25. Brawn, or head cheese – My grandma used to eat this. I don’t like it. Not even a little bit.
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper – No thank you. I’m not a fan of pain.
27. Dulce de leche – Heaven!
28. Oysters
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda – I made it from a recipe I had. I’m not sure how authentic it was.
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl – Well, I do live in San Francisco!
33. Salted lassi – I’ve only had the sweet variety. I’ll have to try this.
34. Sauerkraut
35. Root beer float
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted cream tea – It’s especially good when had  here.
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O – Yes, in my younger years, but I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

39. Gumbo
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insects
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more
46. Fugu
47. Chicken tikka masala – I have had this, but I prefer paneer tika masala. It is one of my favorite dishes.
48. Eel – Yum!
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut – I don’t get the hype. They’re too sweet for me.
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone
54. Paneer – Especially in tika masala!
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal – As a kid.
56. Spaetzle – It’s really good here and here. I’m afraid to make it myself.
57. Dirty gin martini – I like my liquor watered down. I’ve had a vodka martini and was not a fan. I do like gin much better than vodka, so maybe…but still, I’ll take a gin fizz over a martini any day.
58. Beer above 8% ABV – Chimay – I’m talking to you!
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips – We always had these around the house when I was a kid! My mom has a very 1970’s health food sensibility towards eating.
61. S’mores – Fancy ones here as well as the traditional ones.
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin – Clay? People eat this? I had no idea.
64. Currywurst
65. Durian – I’ve heard horror stories of it making your house smell like gasoline for days. I’m affraid of that way more than the taste. I’ve heard it tastes like onions and garlic, both of which I like.
66. Frogs’ legs
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake
68Haggis
69. Fried plantain
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette
71. Gazpacho
72. Caviar and blini
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill – I think I’ll politely decline.
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie – I have, but they are pretty gross.
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong – This is my all time fovorite tea! I have a cup almost every day. Smokey goodness!
80. Bellini – At the Top of the Mark.
81. Tom yum – Mmmmmm! One of my favorite soups!
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky – I heart Pocky! So does Pip.
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant.
85. Kobe beef – I always meant to and never got around to it.
86. Hare
87. Goulash – I have a recipe that I’ve been meaning to try for years. I just never got around to it.
88. Flowers
89. Horse
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa
94. Catfish
95. Mole poblano
96. Bagel and lox – Is there anything better on a Sunday morning?
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

 ***UPDATE – I did not read carefully! I crossed out everything I have never tried, rather than those items I would never consider eating. Rather than uncross everything, I’ll just say that the only items I would never eat are the scotch bonnet pepper, raw or otherwise, and most likely the roadkill.

*Photo by Marcus Nilsson for Domino

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

