is it weird to want to smell like a fireplace?

I am starting to feel Fall in the air. We’re even supposed to get rain later this week! In the spirit of Fall, I have been really into toasty, smokey fragrances. My two current favorites are Miller Harris Feuilles de Tabac and Serge Lutens Fumerie Turque. They are very smokey and woodsy and deep and I love them. They are not for everyone though. My best friend loves floral fragrances and responded to one of these with a less than enthusiastic “Oh, that’s…interesting. I don’t hink it’s for me.” 

The description of Feuilles de Tabac (English translation – tobacco leaves) on the Miller Harris website made me laugh:

“Feuilles de Tabac is essentially a male fragrance, although like many of the others, it is worn by a few mysterious and independent minded women.”

So I am mysterious and independent minded, am I? I used to think that I didn’t like perfume, but I’ve come to realize that what I actually don’t like are most florals – at least on me. I also find that I wear more fragrance in the colder months. Does anyone else like to wear men’s fragrance? Or other unusual fragrances?

2 thoughts on “is it weird to want to smell like a fireplace?

Leave a Reply

