eau des merveilles

 

 

I love fragrance. A lot. I have a nice perfume collection, My best friend refuses to set foot in a bath and body store with me for fear of how long she would have to wait for me to sniff every bottle in the store. It can be a problem. I don’t have a signature fragrance; I usually decide on a fragrance based on my mood. Lately, my mood had been taking me to Hermes Eau de Merveilles. Hermes makes great fragrances and this is one of my favorites. The name translates to something like “Wonder Water” which I love. It is a really unusual fragrance which suits my taste. If you like sweeter fruity florals, this may not be for you. It is not sweet at all. It is really hard to describe. Perfume descriptions can be so esoteric anyway. I’ll just say that it smells a little woody and a little salty to me. I know that sounds weird, but it is really nice. There is a more eloquent description here. I’m not sure why, but it feels perfect for the weird grey weather we have this time of year in San Francisco. The bottle is really pretty too. In person, it looks like it is covered in gold fairy dust. I also like the commercial — so light hearted and fun.

 What about you? Do you have a signature fragrance or do you like to mix it up? What are your favorites?

 

4 thoughts on “eau des merveilles

  1. Oh, L’Interdit is so pretty! I don’t have it, but I’ve smelled it and love it. I think I would like it no matter what it smelled like because of Audrey. 😉 It would be very nice with frilly dresses. Your hubby did good!

Leave a Reply

