egg puffs

I love my neighborhood.
 
It was raining yesterday but it cleared up just as I got home from work.  Perfect timing for a neighborhood stroll, no? Our first stop was the neighborhood baby store. They have a wonderful toy section that is set up as a play area complete with a train table, play kitchen and get ready for it, a kiddie treadmill and glider. I was horrified the first time I saw them but I dare you to enter the space and find those things empty. Kids love them. Crazy.
 
Next we strolled over to the little crepe place for some treats. For me, a Nutella crepe. For Abby, egg puffs. Do you know egg puffs? I am often met with blank stares when I mention them. If you are not familiar with them, the best way I can describe them is that they are like reverse waffles. There is more puff than crevice. The puffs are egg shaped, hence the name.  The crevices are very thin and crispy so the golden puffs of batter easily break off and you pop them in your mouth one by one. In short, they are heaven.

They make the crepes and egg puffs in the window so people can watch. Have you ever seen a crepe being made? It’s just like that scene in Amelie where she makes a record by swirling black goo into a circle. It’s pretty fun to watch. The photo above is of Abby watching our order being made. I’m pretty sure her nose is pressed up to the glass.

We always eat ours on that bench while we watch them make more. This is at least a weekly ritual for us. Sometimes it’s after going the Thai place a few doors down; sometimes it’s before going to the bookstore. Last night it was after the toy store and before having dinner at home. That’s right, before dinner. Yep, I’m that kind of mom.

One thought on “egg puffs

  1. Pingback: this weekend… « …

Leave a Reply

