do the streets sparkle where you live?

*

I’d truly love to know.
 
They do here. Not all of them though and I can’t figure out why. My thinking is that if you have the ability to make the streets sparkle, why wouldn’t you make ALL the streets sparkle? That’s how it would be if I ran the show. Is it a recent discovery and all streets needing repair are getting the sparkles? Is there something special about certain streets that deems them worthy of the sparkle? Do only certain makers of streets have the sparkly technology?
 
If the streets don’t sparkle where you live and you have no idea what I’m carrying on about, I’ll explain. In many of San Francisco’s streets, the sidewalks have some sort of glitter embedded into the sidewalks – pixie dust perhaps? It’s pure magic. It’s hardly noticeable under our usual blanket of fog but when the sun comes out it’s like walking in an enchanted kingdom – The Emerald City or maybe Neverland. It is a crisp and sunny day today and I spent my lunch hour dazzled by the brilliance.
 
Whenever I ask someone if this is unique to San Francisco, no one seems to know the answer. Half the time they don’t even realize that the streets here sparkle and quite possibly question my sanity. Imagine that. So please tell me, do your streets sparkle too?

9 thoughts on “do the streets sparkle where you live?

  1. you know, there are certain spots here in STL where some of the sidewalks sparkle… it’s interesting- and you’re right- why not make all of the sidewalks sparkle if you had the ability?!

    happy weekend.

  2. I was just reading up on this (hence being linked to your blog), and apparently it is quartz in the mortar? As far as I have read anyway. I am trying to figure out how to explain this phenomenon (what else can we call it?) in a piece of writing, but I’m having trouble. Thanks!

  3. Oh! There is some Conor Oberst song, potentially on ‘I’m Wide Awake Its Morning’, that mentions this same thing happening in NYC. Only at night time under the street lights.

  4. They just poured black top on my street and I came here to research how to make the new black top sparkle just a bit. Glass chips seem to be the way to go, but it would be nice to find a glitter or something cheaper that can hold up in the extreme conditions.

Leave a Reply

