how’s your reading comprehension at 5am?

*

There is a man on my morning bus who occasionally asks what I am reading. 

He asked yesterday when I was reading this book. The last time he asked I was reading this book (it’s for 9-12 year olds) and I realized that I don’t remember the last time I read a book that wasn’t for or about children.

The only time I have to read is mostly on the bus to and from work. I’m on the bus before 5:30am. As I’ve mentioned before, my brain is not functioning optimally at that cruel, dark hour and words for grownups don’t register. At best, I am at a fourth grade reading level that early, so reading books for children is just practical, you see. Really it just needs to be light reading (alas, the ability to read Faulkner before the sun rises is not one I possess) but I have discovered that good children’s literature is so much more satisfying than mediocre adult fiction. And in most cases, I find children much more interesting than adults.

If there is any hope for my completing a work of nonfiction these days, its subject must be one that is weighing heavily on my mind. Since I’ve just spent the last few months searching for preschools and will have to spend the next several months searching for an elementary school, education, school and child care are on my mind. But I have to alternate nonfiction reading sessions with fiction sessions which means that there are at least 2-3 books in my purse at all times. Apparently I have the attention span of a humming bird.

At least my lack of pre-dawn reading comprehension means, when she’s older, Abby will have an extensive library.

What about you? What do you like to read? Do you have any great kid’s book recommendations for me?

10 thoughts on “how’s your reading comprehension at 5am?

  1. I’m the same. By time I have found the time to sit down with a book I’m super tired….I always read children’s books….I enjoy them as much as an adult book…usually more. x

  2. Cracking me up Bronwyn. People probably say “there’s that lady who reads children’s books” – cute. I have had no time to sit and read since I started my business back in February. I’ve been doing books on tape instead, just to get my fix. I do have a small collection of Nancy Drew I haven’t read in decades…

  3. Haha! I bet they do! And Nancy Drew – I’ll have to read some of those next. I read a few when I was a kid, but I don’t remember much.

  4. On the bus before 5:30am? Oh my goodness that is SO early. I don’t think I could read anything that early, either. Good idea with the kids’ books! We only have picture books at home, my son is four…
    Thanks, by the way, for your supportive comment about what happened to my car – I can’t wait to have it brand new again! I mean, it was only a week old!

  5. I can’t use use my daughter as an excuse. She’s only four. I bought each book specifically for me. I haven’t resorted to reading picture books on the bus yet, but one day I just might. Who knows?

  6. Very interesting. I love children’s books and tend to revisit the ones I read as a child. How about Judy Blume and Roald Dahl? And of course you’ve read Harry Potter? But a new love of mine is anything by Lauren Child. Gorgeous.

    p.s – I like your (middle) name!

    • I read TONS of Judy Blume whan I was a kid and was thinking about revisiting Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret soon. Love Roald Dahl and Harry Potter! I just read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Matilda a few weeks ago. I have tons of Lauren Child picture books for my 4 year old and they are some of our favorites. I just got a couple of the Clarice Bean books at the Goodwill but haven’t read them yet. I’ll have to give those a go next. Is Bron short for Bronwyn?

  7. Pingback: january reads « …

Leave a comment