sink or swim

My husband owns a screen printing shop called fallout shelter. He is, for the most part, a one man show. In the beginning I pitched in, mostly because I wanted to learn how to screen print, not because his work load demanded it. As my schedule grew busier, I helped less and the most I’ve done in the last few years is help answer emails here and there.

Now, his work load is demanding my attention. I won’t be printing like I did in the old days. I don’t have that sort of time. I’ll be working on the administrative tasks. Accounting, production schedules, pricing, quotes and email will be my territory.

I am a planner and I don’t jump into things without (over) thinking. I’ve been procrastinating devising the best strategy to slowly transition into my new role. A role that is in addition to, not instead of, the many roles I already fill. I see now that there is no smooth transition and for Marcus to get through the next few weeks, I’m just going to have to jump in. I guess we all need to step out of our comfort zone from time to time. I’m pretty excited. I’m just not sure where the extra time is going to come from.

So if I start rambling on about the shop here, you’ll know why.

6 thoughts on “sink or swim

  1. That’s kind of exciting – must mean he’s got some extra business. I would love to screen print, always coming up with new tshirt ideas. I’m sure you’ll find the time – we all need a wrench thrown at us once in a while. Good Luck!

  2. good luck bronwyn! i see the same happening to me in the future with my husband’s photography. it frustrates me sometimes that women are expected to be able to cope with so many roles and different responsibilities but, then again, it makes me proud to be a woman. go girl, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

