9 years

Nine years ago today, I married my best friend.

September 14th, 2001 was not our chosen wedding day. It was September 11th. Instead of getting married, I spent that Tuesday trying to make sense of the world. I remember that it was a beautiful, sunny day so we went for a drive around the city with no destination in mind. We saw the Coast Guard close to shore, helicopters over head, newsies popped up on street corners literally calling “Read all about it”. The day was surreal to say the least.

On Wednesday we had a Buddhist ceremony and Marc’s parents threw us a wedding banquet. The Buddhist ceremony was all they cared about but technically, we should have already had the civil ceremony out of the way. We still didn’t know when City Hall was going to open and when they would be able to reschedule us. We didn’t mention this to his family.

On Thursday we wondered if we would be able to go to China that Sunday for our honeymoon as planned. And if so, would we actually be married on our honeymoon?

After a few days of uncertainty, we were married that Friday morning and our honeymoon was delayed by two weeks. We had already been together for 7 years, so a few days made no difference to us. We were happy to be married. We were happy to start our marriage with a great adventure. Many were not so lucky.

In case you’re wondering, I am the world’s worst bride. I ate gorgonzola mac and cheese the day before the wedding; I picked my ring out 6 days before the wedding; I wore a denim jacket; my $50 dress was rumpled and my hair was messy. These were not the details I cared about.

I only cared that I was happy. I still am.

8 thoughts on “9 years

  1. Wow Bronwyn, what a story. You’re right, happy is the only part that matters. The marriage is so much more important than the ceremony. Is that you in that last image? You’re stunning madame. Gorgonzola Mac’ sounds quite divine to me.

  2. happy anniversary bronwyn! it’s so nice to finally see your face! 😀 you’re beautiful and that first photo is amazing! i admire you for seeing the adventurous start to your marriage as something positive and i agree with you.

  3. That sounds like a lovely and so sweet wedding…and I love the photos too:)
    Congrats on 9 years:)

    Kisses, my dear

    Ps: I am hosting a sweet jewelry GIVEAWAY today 🙂 Hope you will join in!!!

  4. Aww, love this post. You look beautiful and I totally dig that you weren’t a bridezilla. And uh, is your husband’s name Marc? The Baby Space man’s name might be Mark (albeit with a k) too. V funny.

Leave a Reply

