december

Already? Really? It’s the last month of the year?

I’m not sure how it snuck up on me, but I’m glad it’s here. It is the most fun month. Probably because it is the month that I make the most effort to get out and do things. I try to do something holiday–ish every day in December, whether it be big or small.  Here is my list so far:

Make ornaments with Abby ( I’m thinking salt dough and maybe papier mache)

Make cookies (I’m sure we’ll do this a few times – Abby is a baking fool)

A trip downtown – a ride in the Westin St. Francis elevators, the tree in Union Square, wander through Anthropologie, the escaltors at Westfield’s – it is very important that I have nothing that I absolutely need to get. This is a stress free trip.

Fillmore Street after sundown – the street is lined with trees and every one of them is wrapped in twinkle lights. It’s very pretty and Abby loves it.

Holiday party at the Academy of Sciences

Watch A Charlie Brown Christmas

The Dunsmuir House – a historic estate in Oakland. We went here for Easter a few years ago and it was wonderful. I can’t wait to see what they do for Christmas.

The Christmas Fantasy Merry-Go-Round at Tilden Park.

Take Abby to see the Nutcracker for the first time – I am jumping out of my skin with excitement over this.

Make paper garland

A trip back to Children’s Fairy Land for Fairy Winterland

Annual Holiday/Birthday brunch with the London Auntie

Watch the How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Make paper snowflakes

Annual Holiday dinner at a friend’s house

Drive around at night looking at Christmas lights and decorations – We may even leave the city for this. There are some areas of Daly City (just south of San Francisco) where people go NUTSO. There are entire streets that are lit up like a baseball field. It’s crazy and I think Abby will love it.

Christmas Eve Brunch with Abby and my best friend.

So that is 18. I need a few more things to add to the list. What December fun do you have planned?

5 thoughts on “december

  1. oh goodness! that sounds super fun 🙂 our month is a little wild, but my favorite day is my birthday- i enjoy having a december birthday because it’s so festive!

  2. Are you kidding me? I’m exhausted just reading the darn list. I’m in awe and feeling like a Christmas loser but I’ll turn it into motivation. My daughter and I are also going to the Nutcracker.

    • No one can go to the Nutcracker and be a Christmas loser. It’s not possible. But so far I haven’t done anything on my list. I was supposed to do at least one thing every day in December. Instead, we converted an armoire into a closet for Abby. I guess it sortof Christmasy – she needs somewhere to put the dress ups that Santa will bring her, right?

Leave a Reply

