the magic of books

Abby is about as girly and dreamy as they come. Fairies, princesses, mermaids, unicorns (my childhood favorite!) and anything magical float her boat. In her words, she likes “pink and sparkles and rainbow things”.

This year feels important to me in terms of reading. So for Christmas I have decided to give her library an upgrade. It is pretty well stocked as it is, mostly with classics – Dr. Seuss, Madeline, Eloise – as well as several Charlie and Lola books and many early readers. Now that she developing strong tastes and preferences, I want to get books on subjects in which she has deep interest. I feel like this is a great way to get kids excited about books and reading. I hope to create a magical Christmas morning experience of opening a box full of beautiful and colorful books, picked specifically with her interests in mind. I want her to see the magic in books and thought this might be a good start.

I thought I’d talk about kid’s books from time to time over the next few weeks in case you have any girly girls on your holiday shopping list. Here are the books that I decided on for this year.

Princess and Fairy by Anna Pignataro

Mermaid Dance by Marjorie Hakala

Princesses of the World by Misstigri Katell Goyer

Claire and the Unicorn Happy Ever After by B.G. Hennessey

Mama, How Long Will You Love Me? by Anna Pignataro

The Tomtem by Astrid Lindgren

The Tomtem and the Fox by Astrid Lindgren

Goldilocks and the Three Bears by Lauren Child

The Yellow Tutu by Kirsten Bramsen

Princess Jessica Rescues a Prince by Jennifer Brooks

How Robin Saved Spring by Debbie Ouelette

The Duchess of Whimsy by Randall de Seve

The Tiptoe Guide to Tracking Fairies by Ammi-Joan Paquette

The Mice of Bistro des Sept Freres by Marie Le Tourneau

The Village of Basketeers by Lynda Gene Rymond

Finding Fairies: Secrets for Attracting Little People from Around the World by Michelle Roehm McCann

And from the Disney Fairies series (because oh, how Abby loves the Disney Fairies)

The Shell Gift

Actual Fairy Size

Secret Fairy Homes

The Fairy Berry Bake-Off

Pixie Hollow Paint Day

Beck’s Bunny Secret

A Game of Hide and Seek

I’ll talk about them a bit as well as some of our current favorites in future posts.

Happy Friday! I hope you have a wonderful first weekend of December.

8 thoughts on “the magic of books

  1. Abby reminds me so much of my daughter when she was little, books were and still are her favorite thing. If she ever needed disciplining, I would take away some daily reading time or threaten a week of no library visits – such horror! Looking forward to grandchildren so I can have that nightly bedtime story reading again. Funny, even though she is in no way an artist, she also loved to go to the art supply store – mostly she wanted to look at and buy new pens – strange kid ha.

  2. O, that is so sweet. She looks so sweet with her books and her outfit is so adorable.
    I used to read a lot when I was very small – I outread everyone else in my first grade class and won a free book.
    The book list looks wonderful…I want to bookmark in case I have children one day 🙂

  3. Joyti – This photo is a bit old, but that was my favorite dress she’s ever had. I don’t think I’d be able to get it on her now. It’s not girlie enough for her taste. 😉

    Jeanette – Aww! That’s a huge compliment. Thank you. 🙂

  4. what a cutie, and such a lucky girl to be introduced to reading early. Some of my fondest childhood memories include reading, and being read to. Do you remember Spot the dog? I loved those books.

  5. Pingback: january reads « …

Leave a Reply

