goodbye 2010, hello 2011

 

Since childhood I have experienced a strange déjà vu this time of year. I look out the window at night or early in the morning, smell the cold, dark air and feel a bit of melancholy. It’s always the same and it’s happened for an eternity.

This is a strange time of year.

The last week of the year makes me a little sad. I’m sad to see a wonderful holiday season come to an end, but on the other hand it is a bit of a relief. It really is a lot of work with a little one. But the work is fun and the season infinitely more magical, for me at least. And now it’s over. The beautiful tree in this photo greeted me every weekday morning and now it is gone. Last Wednesday, I went to work in a winter wonderland. On Thursday, the halls were bare. Just like that. I wasn’t sure how to spend my lunch hours last week. The whole holiday was pieced together in 1 hour increments. I ended up reading in a café everyday which was lovely to say the least.

The first week of the year makes me feel a little unsettled. I feel like I should start fresh in some grand way – clean the house top to bottom, get all my paperwork in order, take stock of the previous year and make grand resolutions for the new year. It never really happens that way. I do end up reviewing the year prior and thinking about my intentions for the upcoming year, but it usually happens a few weeks into the year. This is likely because of my January birthday. The New Year has begun, but my new year hasn’t started just yet. I feel a bit out of step with the rest of the world.

Despite the melancholic state of my mind, we’ve had a wonderful few weeks. Christmas morning was magical for Abby. All of her sweet 4 year old dreams came true. And then some. The rest of the day was peaceful and playful. But the best part of the day was in the midst of the gift opening madness, I asked Abby if she was having a good Christmas morning.

“Yes. You get to stay home. I love any day Mama gets to stay home.”

And I spent all of New Years day at home in my PJ’s with my family, playing with fairies and musketeers, and drinking my way through several pots of coffee, not because I was sleepy but because I like coffee. It was a good start to what I hope will be a great year.

Wishing you a happy 2011, friends. Thank you for stopping by.

7 thoughts on “goodbye 2010, hello 2011

  1. Happy New Year Bronwyn! I am moving slowly into this year as well and I think that’s okay. I felt so much pressure during December, we had lots of different company and gatherings I always felt behind. Now that’s it’s all over and most of our Christmas decorations are down (taking my sweet time with that as well), I’m easing into 2011 with a more relaxed feeling – think I need it. Glad Abby had a magical time.

Leave a Reply

