and here’s the part where my bff lea (yes, you lea. don’t think i don’t see you!) rolls her eyes at me because i’m such a hippie

I don’t give Abby coloring books. I won’t get on my hippie soap box and go on about how they stifle creativity, blah, blah, blah. I just don’t like them. I like when Abby draws her own pictures. They are always much better. Coloring books aren’t completely banned though. We sometimes get them as gifts. They just don’t usually stay out for very long. When Abby was 2 or 3, my mother brought her one and they colored together.

Abby: Scribbles all over the page.

Grandma: “Oh Abby, watch me. See how my color stays in the lines? Here, I’ll show you how to do it.”

Me: “Or Grandma, she can put the color wherever she thinks it looks best.”

Abby: Scribbles all over the page.

Grandma: “Oh, I guess that’s another way to do it.”

Me: “I like all the swirlies she added.”

Grandma: “Yes, of course they are lovely.”

Abby: Turns page. Scribbles.

Grandma: “Yes, of course. What was I thinking? I shouldn’t teach her to stay in the lines. Conformity, The Man, and all that. Here Abby, I’ll color outside the lines with you!”

Abby: “Let’s play dolls.”

Anyway, Abby wanted to color in the Medieval Fashions coloring book I got for my birthday so I let her. She got frustrated because she accidentally colored the girl’s hand orange.

“Maybe she liked the color of her dress so much that she painted her hand the same color to match.”

She didn’t buy it.

“Look Abby, someone else made this picture. It’s not yours until you make it yours. Until you change it somehow.”

“I can do whatever?”

“Yes.”

“I can make her rainbow?”

“Yes! That would absolutely make it your picture then.”

“And I can make magic come out of them!”

So we’ve been making medieval rainbow people with magic coming out of them for a few days now. And Abby also developed a technique for making rainbows spring from people’s heads.

I may loosen up a bit.

3 thoughts on “and here’s the part where my bff lea (yes, you lea. don’t think i don’t see you!) rolls her eyes at me because i’m such a hippie

  1. I’m the same about coloring books, but I must say that looks like a really nice one and she has been very creative with the colors and patterns. Sadie made be laugh, she was given a coloring competition. She turned it over and did her own drawing on the back!

  2. ha, I was going to say the same thing as Lea, wish magic rainbows could come out of my head 🙂
    Perhaps the coloring books are being used as inspiration. I know I get inspired when I see other people’s creativity and it often leads me to come up with things – maybe if you think of it that way you won’t mind her using them so much.

Leave a Reply

