february reads part 1 – me

Speaking of girls who read…

The Lightning Thief & Sea of Monsters – Rick Riordan

Lea recently lost her mind over this series and wanted me to read it. I agreed on the condition that she read His Dark Materials. So here we are a month later and I’ve read the first two of the series, am on the third and have read three other books. Lea is halfway through The Golden Compass. She is usually a much faster reader than I am but in the time it has taken me to read six books, she has read half of one. You’re killing me, Lea. πŸ˜‰

Back when I thought I was all high brow, I was a classical mythology major in college before I switched (by which I mean dropped out with only two classes to go, got married, traveled, and went back for something completely unrelated, thus starting all over). This was a long time ago and I wasn’t the most studious so I forget a lot of what I learned. I feel like this is a review for me and I’ll probably retain much more than I did the first time around because, oh my gods, this series is so fun.

Stardust – Neil Gaiman

I once saw an interview with Neil Gaiman where he said that part of the idea for this book came from seeing a falling star in Arizona. The sky was so huge and he could see the star for so long that he felt as though he could see it land on earth. He though to himself something along the lines of “If a star fell to earth and landed in Faerie, of course it would be a girl.” Of course. I’d like Neil to be my BFF. I mean, my other BFF besides you, Lea.

Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide, Book 1 – Holly Black & Toni DiTerlizzi

Mysterious house, secret rooms, a dusty attic, mischievous fairies… what’s not to love? I would have continued with the series since it took like a day to read this book but my local bookshop had books 1,3,4, and 5. No book 2, so I’ll just have to wait until they get it in.

The Magic Faraway Tree – Enid Blyton

You know that Amazon feature where they make recommendations based on your browsing history and you’re like “How do you know what I’ll like?” I’m sorry for doubting you Amazon. I had never heard of Enid Blyton but she’s the most prolific writer ever – she’s written like a million series. I’m so sad that I didn’t read this one as a kid but she isn’t as well known in the states. This one is full of magical and silly characters and they have very magical and silly adventures. I thought this was the first in the series when I ordered it, but I think it’s actually the second. It doesn’t really matter. It was still wonderful. I’ve ordered others but most of them come from the UK so it takes a month to get them. Good thing I got a few.

I’ll show you what I’ve been reading with Abby tomorrow. Happy Monday!

9 thoughts on “february reads part 1 – me

  1. Oh Bronwyn, my childhood was filled with Enid Blyton and her magical writings!! She wrote a series of Noddy books that so enchanted me as a child that I have a small collection of Noddy items. Of course my mother is from England so that’s why I knew her. I still have several of her books and treasure them. Enid was a big part of my life πŸ™‚
    There is another long story involving her and the Noddy collection and a room full of hundreds of people and psychic but I’ll have to tell you that one in person some day πŸ™‚
    I saw the Lightning Thief movie – liked it, love mythology. The idea that it came to him here in my Arizona makes me smile.

  2. When I was a child, I read L.M. Montgomery. Old-fashioned perhaps, but full of pretty descriptions…sort of fairy-tale like. I have heard of Enid Blyton, but never read her. I hear some new undiscovered works of hers have just been found…
    O, and on the farmer’s market…can’t wait for peas! And raspberries, and apricots!

  3. like everton, i grew up reading enid blyton. she’s a staple here for under 10s! you might already know of my obsession with all things neil gaiman but i didn’t know where he had got his inspiration for stardust. thanks for the info! oh, and greek and roman mythology were a huge chunk of my uni studies too! πŸ˜€

  4. I didn’t know of your obsession with Neil. Isn’t that a lovely story? It made me smile. Did living on your rock influence the study of mythology? It seems like it should be required there. πŸ™‚ If you are a purist, you may not like that they moved Mt Olympus to NYC. Other than that, you might like the series.

    • actually, i’ve been into mythology since i was a child. i remember looking up myths and the gods’ and goddesses’ family trees on the encyclopedia when i was little more than maia’s age! i don’t know anyone else here who shares my interest in mythology (other than the professors at uni!). i’ve yet to read the percy jackson books, though. and yes, great story about gaiman. he’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

