bloom

I’ve been meaning to write a post about Bloom, the newest addition to our family. It has been hard for me to put my feelings about this little critter who very quickly worked her way into all of our hearts into words. And now I find it even more difficult to find the words to say goodbye, for our sweet little Bloom passed away on Saturday.

We are all heartbroken.

She was only with us for 2 months, but in those two months we placed dishes of birdseed on the dining table so she could share meals with us, we snuggled on the couch and watched movies with her (I didn’t know birds could snuggle), she made herself comfy in Abby’s doll house, she allowed Abby to play all manner of games with her and she gave us a piece of her mind when any of us tried to make her do anything she didn’t want to do. On her first day with us, Abby dressed up as Snow White and pretended that she was a woodland princess and Bloom was her special animal friend. She perched on Abby’s finger and played the part so very well. We did no expect a bird to be such a wonderful companion and a real part of the family. And we were not prepared to have to say goodbye so soon.

We love you and will miss you, Bloom. We are grateful for the time we had with you.

 

12 thoughts on “bloom

  1. Oh Bronwyn I am very sorry. I completely understand. It’s been over a year since we lost our dog and still I cannot talk about him with tears. I’ve never heard of a bird acting this way and find it quite sweet. I’m of course now curious as to how he came into your life – perhaps when you are healing you can share that part. He was beautiful.

    • Jeanette – We got her for Abby for her birthday. She really loves birds. She’s always been fascinated by them. So we took her to a pet shop that specializes in birds and let Abby pick one out.

  2. my brother and I had a bird just like Bloom when we were little – we loved him to bits. It’s so sad saying goodbye to animals, because they seem to love you so well.

    • They really do, Hila. They don’t care if you are late or tired or cranky. They just love you. How nice that you had a sweet little bird too. 🙂

  3. I was immediately transfixed by her beauty then I read her name and smiled….it’s so sad to learn that she’s gone but what a gift she was in the time that you had together. Bless.

Leave a Reply

