scarier than a dark cave filled with monsters, bats, ghosts and creepy eyeballs

As of Monday, Abby is officially a big kid. Kindergarten. Wow.

This is a huge transition. Preschool to elementary school. 3 days a week to 5 days a week. Afternoons to mornings. This is the hardest. Abby normally wakes up on her own between 8am and 9am and now I have to wake her up around 6am to avoid rushing her. And I still have to rush her because it takes FOREVER to get the girl out of bed. But each day gets a little better.

Abby is the kind of kid that needs time to warm up to new people and situations. I can tell she isn’t quite comfortable yet but she is enjoying herself nonetheless. She is all smiles when I pick her up. And she was OK with us leaving the classroom on the first day. It was 3 weeks before we could leave her alone at preschool.

Though there were no first day tears from Abby, there were a few from me. Not as many as I thought there would be and not as many as last year. But I spent the whole day in a cafe near her school “just in case”. Most likely just in case I freaked out and decided I wasn’t ready for her to be a big kid yet, I’d be close enough to run over and snatch her from class. But I refrained and everything was fine.

Truthfully, I love watching her grow. The bigger she gets, the more fun she gets. And I’m really excited for her to start kindergarten. I’m just lamenting the loss of time this means. Now that she has to get up so early, she has to go to bed early. I am not good with bedtimes. We’ve gotten into this after dinner routine of staying up late eating ice cream and watching Wonder Woman. We have to give that up most days now and I’m really upset about it. It would seem I may have more growing up to do than Abby.

The title of the post is a quote from Abby a few days before Kindergarten started about how scary it was to start kindergarten.But she got brave the day before and even told our friend that she was “super excited” about the first day.

She looks super excited to me. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “scarier than a dark cave filled with monsters, bats, ghosts and creepy eyeballs

  1. Oh what magical moments. She looks adorable. Funny you stayed across the street πŸ™‚
    She will continue to teach you to let go, stand on your own two feet and be brave. It’s so hard though, so so hard.

  2. Oh Bronwyn, I feel your pain/excitement. She’s so sweet! Abby’s a special girl, very bright and so imaginative. She’ll be fine and I’m sure she’ll be a popular girl with her friends too. I showed Maia her photos and she got all excited when I told her her name is Abby (also her best friend’s name) and when she saw her backpack (so did I!). Is there any way we can get hold of a backpack like hers? It looks vintage but I thought I’d ask. Also, seeing all those Crayola boxes in her little suitcase got ME all excited! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

