behind the scenes

Are you tired of kimonos yet?

Good! Me either! Here are a few scenes from before the festival while the girls were getting ready.  I was so enchanted with the whole process. It is so involved. It took almost 3 hours to get 3 girls ready. Abby loved being fussed over. The girl will definitely love spa days when she is older.

The hair was so intricate, it was an architectural feat. It was fascinating to watch its creation.  

Then there was the makeup. I was feeling vaguely “toddlers and tiaras” seeing my perfect little girl made up. But it’s tradition. And it’s very theatrical, so I likened it to make up for a play.

They even recruited me, “the professional”. Ha! It’s true that I know a lot about makeup, but I don’t often apply it on others and certainly not liquid liner on a twitchy 5 year old. But it worked out.

I think my favorite was watching all the fuss that goes into the kimono. It takes at least 30 minutes to put one on properly with all the adjustments that are necessary. I’m trying to learn so I can help there too, but it is really complicated.

All the girls looked darling and enjoyed all the attention. But because I am a mom, I worry. They got A LOT of attention. And I started to worry that Abby would start to equate the hair and makeup and dress with being special and beautiful. She commented on how much she liked the makeup several times over the course of a few days, especially the eyes. I was quick to remind her that 5 year olds can only wear the black stuff that is usually just for mamas (I wear black eyeliner every.single.day) for performances.

But now that some time has passed, she hasn’t mentioned the make up in a while. And I guess my job now is to pay attention and look for opportunities to remind her that she is special and beautiful every day. To look for opportunities to take the focus off appearance and place it on kindness and character and teach her about what true beauty is.

She is true beauty.

8 thoughts on “behind the scenes

  1. I can’t get over how beautiful she is (you don’t need to tell her I said so!). I feel the same way about makeup and beauty. Maia is a tad fixated on makeup, especially lipstick and nail polish. I have to lock away mine or keep it out of her reach most of the time. And I LOVE the tradition behind it all…the makeup, the clothes. *swoon*

    ps – Is that you in the photo?

  2. Yep, that’s me. 🙂 I have a box of lip gloss and sparkly powder that Abby is allowed to play with at home but not out and I have never let her touch eyeliner and she knows it as “the black stuff that only mamas can wear”.

  3. I have recently been paying very close attention to how I relate to little girls and their appearance.
    Had NO idea the kimono and hair were so detailed, can’t imagine doing that on a daily basis.
    I hardly ever wear make-up. I went to high school in the 80s so I probably wore enough then to last a lifetime 🙂

    • I actually thought about your post on the subject when they were getting all the attention. And regarding makeup in the 80’s, did you wear blue mascara like me???? 😉

Leave a Reply

