change of scenery

20130503-093349.jpg

I’ve been feeling meh lately. First, I haven’t been doing a good job of taking care of myself. I was on a 6 month junk food bender, I haven’t had a haircut in over a year, laundry mountain is next level, you get the idea. Also, I’m in a bit of a rut. With a nine to five and a child in school, my week is pretty structured, and I do like to have routines but I think I have taken it too far. Same office, same cafe for tea, same lunch spot, same route to and from work. Meh.

So now I am on a quest of sorts. A quest for new.  I don’t really have room for major change at the moment, but I realized that doesn’t mean I can’t incorporate a little newness into my day to day. This week I’ve been making an effort to go to different cafes in the morning. I’ve been taking a different route to work. The other day I went to the farmer’s market at lunch for a change. There is nothing earth shattering about this, but a change of scenery can’t hurt.

And I am trying to take care of myself. I am in the middle of a cleanse to break my crazy sugar and caffeine addiction and perhaps lose a few of the junk food bender pounds. I am going to schedule a haircut and I am even considering exercising. I don’t have anything against activity, but I don’t care for “working out”. There is something so forced and soul-less about it to me. I would love to go hiking or take a yoga class every day. Alas, 4am and 10pm are not practical times for these activities and that is when I have available time for exercise. I like to think that my morning walk to work is sufficient, but I am starting to face the reality that it just isn’t. So hello soul-less exercise. Maybe.

What do you do when you are in a rut or when you want to take better care of yourself? I’d love to know.

5 thoughts on “change of scenery

  1. Sounds like you are taking some good steps. Sometimes a little change goes a long way! I know what you mean about getting in a rut with the 9 to 5. I have been there! Just make sure to give yourself some treats along the way! I like to settle in with a fave magazine. That always helps me. 🙂

  2. Thanks Joann! I’ve been setting some time aside (though not as much as I’d like) for reading. I had gotten so busy that I hadn’t read a book for months. For the minutes I am reading, it is a complete change of scenery, if only in my head. 😉 Magazines are the same too, I think. So many lovely pictures. 🙂

  3. We’re going through the same thing, you and me. I’m full of good intentions and plans to keep up my daily yoga routine (my life-saver), eat healthier, get out more, take more care of myself in general but am finding it very hard to stick to them. It’s nice knowing I’m not the only one feeling this way. And I love the steps you’re taking…definitely in the right direction. x

Leave a comment